Jerry Vale Will Be Missed By His Many Fans   7 comments

It has been reported that singer Jerry Vale died over thejv9 weekend at his home in Palm Desert, California. He was 83 and had been in ill health for some time. He is survived by his wife of 55 years, a son, a daughter and three grandchildren.

This post is kind of short because I wanted to get it published tonight, but there are a number of write-ups with more information available online. For a very good one, I’d refer you to our friend David Lobosco’s blog, A TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE.

Below is one of Jerry Vale’s best songs (and a favorite of Mrs. BG) and below that, a tribute video.

jvcdJerry Vale – “Pretend You Don’t See Her”

7 responses to “Jerry Vale Will Be Missed By His Many Fans

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so sad at the passing of Jerry Vale. I met him several times over a period of 25 years when he would be performing within 120 miles from my home. After each show, I would go back stage and chat with him for a few minutes. It was evident that he was a kind, unassuming, down to earth gentleman, who never let his celebrity go to his head. He was just “one of the guys”…”the boy next door”. In my opinion, he had the most beautiful singing voice of any male singer…ever!!! Not only is he gone, but also gone is an era of beautiful (real) music. I won’t even tell you what I think of what is called “music” today. Jerry was one of a kind…there will never be another like him. So sad. Thank goodness for his recordings.

  2. Thanks for writing and sharing your thoughts and experiences.

  3. I will be presenting a full class running over an hour on the music and life of Jerry Vale. (future classes will run longer at various locations) on Wednesday November 25 th. 2015 in New York City at St Peters Church Senior Center Lexington Avenue and 54 th.St. Time is 2:15 p.m.All are invited and it is free.

  4. Oh how I wish I could be there!
    When and where are the “various locations” of future classes? I guess it’s too much to hope for that you would be in the Atlanta, Ga. area. Right?

  5. I have followed Gerry Vales career from England & my big regret is that he was not as well known in Great Britain. A truly lovely man & performer

  6. I wish I could have been there. How did it go???

NOTE: Comments are moderated before posting.

