Spring And Strange Slideshows   5 comments

Now that March has arrived, I wanted to do a slideshow with bright and colorful pictures that would herald the approach of Spring, but I got sidetracked by something. The slideshow widget used by WordPress (the GMC host) has either changed or my memory is worse than I thought, because no matter what size pictures I use, they end up appearing too small on the final product. Each picture is shrunk and surrounded by lots of empty black space. I looked back at previous posts with slideshows, and they all seem smaller than I remembered  too. (Here’s an example.) I’m probably just misremembering, but I suppose it’s also possible that they’ve changed the way they do them, which has affected old ones too.

Anyhow, I thought I’d try something different with this one. As you can see below, the pictures are shown in a variety of sizes. If you click on any of them, you’ll be taken to a viewer that allows you to go through the full-size pictures at your own pace. (Important note: to return to the main page, click on the tiny ‘x’ in the upper left corner of the viewer.)

Vienna Strauss Orchestra – “Voices Of Spring”

5 responses to “Spring And Strange Slideshows

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My memory tells me there wasn’t as much black space around the slide show items as your example suggests. I think WordPress is playing funny buggers with you.

  2. Thank You! I had just about convinced myself that it was my Swiss-cheese memory playing its usual tricks, but maybe the trickster is WP.

  3. I have been enjoying your blog for some time, keep up the good work.

  4. Thanks for the kind words.

  5. And some say there is no heaven on earth !!! They are not just looking around.

    Rose Mary Palmer

NOTE: Comments are moderated before posting.

