Time Lurches On While Dust Collects   4 comments

The passage of time can affect a geezer’s life in a number of ways (aside from the obvious). In my case it often seems to result in the cobwebbing of previously well-used gizmos. One example would be the activity of bicycling, which I used to do so regularly that I even bought a second bike as an alternate and backup. Unfortunately, my joints and various other parts are too creaky now so both machines are covered with dusty plastic tarps in the garage.

A similar situation has occurred with something I once used almost every day, sometimes for hours at a time. Its current lack of use is still mostly due to the inexorable march of time, but it’s also about the inevitable obsolescence that’s part of our gadget-obsessed world.

Years ago I began spending a lot of time and money gradually replacing all my original favorite records with CDs. I eventually also set myself up with a pretty darn good component stereo system, complete with a fancy CD player that not only had a single drawer but also a cartridge system for multi-play. I even bought extra cartridges so that I could have separate ones for different kinds of music. Needless to say, I used the system –  a lot.

But a funny thing happened to music. Time passed, the digital revolution continued, and I found myself mostly listening to music on my computer or my little MP3 player. I still occasionally bought CDs and listened to them in the car, but only after ripping them to my hard drive. I even bought a bass boost thingy to enhance the sound from my computer. Meanwhile, my fancy stereo system was neglected, and it remains so today.

Bobby Lee Trammell – “Woe Is Me”

Posted April 2, 2012 by BG in Boomers, Music, Nostalgia, Oldies, Retirement, Seniors

Tagged with , ,

4 responses to “Time Lurches On While Dust Collects

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A great topic BG and one of my favorite to discuss and/or debate, depending on one’s view of course. It took me quite a while to finally succumb to the mp3 revolution along with the various players and of course, the personal computer. I had always considered myself a connoisseur of sorts with regard to listening to music ensuring my experience was a good as I could possibly afford to make it. And that certainly meant having an extensive component delivery system.

    Up until a couple of years ago my analogy to the issue was simple. Listening to music via the new digital devices inclusive of the computer was a bit like going to a fast food restaurant in lieu of getting dressed and having a quality dinner in a 4-star steak house.

    I think it was just the convenience of the mp3 music that finally sucked me in – it was a bit like a juke box I think. Just go to your listing of songs and click on a selection. No worry with hunting up a particular CD or putting a CD in the player – just click on a selection and there you go!

    Still however dissatisfied with the quality of sound I was getting in return, I then purchased a cable that would go from my computer’s headphone jack to one of the inputs on my receiver/amp in my component system. And that simple connection put me back into the pink with regard to my music. Only problem was, I eventually became even too lazy to take 30-seconds to go through that exercise when I wanted to listen to a song or two on my computer.

    So I eventually succumbed to doing most, if not all my listening to music, on the personal computer. If fact, I touted to myself that I had one of the best delivery systems available attached to that little sound card thingy! This continued for a couple of years up until recently. Then a couple of weeks ago my sister dropped by for a visit and wanted to hear a few songs on my computer. Then she wanted to see and hear how I ran it through my amplifier if I wanted to listen to it that way.

    Well, when I started playing those songs through my component system as compared to my perceived “greatest in the world” computer speaker system, I remembered what my music was really suppose to sound like. So at least for the present, when I listen to the mp3 files on my computer, I take those few seconds to plug in that headphone jack, turn on the receiver/amplifier and listen to the music the way the music gods intended it to be listened too!!

  2. Thanks for providing some food for thought, Alan. It is certainly lots of good info and also inspiration for me to rethink the whole situation.

  3. It’s amazing (or disturbing) how closely that describes what I’ve done. My computer is geared to audio/visual and it has an excellent sound card (it even looks like an amplifier – great big volume control knob on the front), and I have some pretty good speakers. I have gone a step further: I was in I.T. before I retired so I’ve written programs to catalogue my music. Not just that but to sort (into whatever category I could think up), select and play the music. Well, it keeps me off the street.

  4. Sounds a lot fancier than mine, Peter. And I envy your programming ability, although my MediaMonkey program does pretty well with the sorting, selecting, and playing of my music.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

